Grammy Award-winning singer and songwriter Miguel just teased the arrival of his fifth album ‘Viscera’ with a performance that left the audience and internet buzzing. For a portion of his show, he was suspended from ropes pierced through his skin on his back. Miguel’s emotional and violent rebirth is occurring at parallel timing to the strong charting success of ‘Sure Thing’, a single from his debut album, which went viral on TikTok and lead the song to enter several charts around the world.  

Miguel, how would you describe your music, your sound and your artistic persona?

Alternative, sexy and honest. 

You began pursuing your music career at 13. Can you share with us more about how it all began?

First, foremost and most importantly, it always begins with convincing yourself. 

KNITTED VEST, LONGSLEEVE, SHORTS AND PANTS – GIVENCHY
BOOTS – MM6
GLASSES – CHRISTIAN DIOR
BELT – CHOME HEARTS
NECKLACES – CHROME HEARTS , EMANUELE BICOCCHI
RINGS – CHROME HEARTS , EMANUELE BICOCCHI, LISA LINHARDT
BRACELETS & CUFFS – CHROME HEARTS, AI STUIDOS
EARRING – CHROME HEARTS

Who are your all time biggest musical influences?

Prince, Marvin, Stevie, The Clash, Zeppelin, Bowie and The Beatles.

This year, we’ve been able to witness huge success of ‘Sure Thing’, a single from your debut album, which happened due to going viral on TikTok. How is it seeing such unexpected success of a single, that was released all those years ago?

Seeing ‘Sure Thing’ re-emerge really is wild. I have tremendous gratitude to the songwriters I studied, Stevie Wonder, Lil’ Wayne, Gamble and Huff, Diane Warren, that then enabled me to write that song. 

Soon, you’ll be releasing your fifth album ‘Viscera’. What can the fans expect from this upcoming album?

‘Viscera’ is sharp, well balanced blade. It’s in no way background music. It’s not like anything else I’ve done. I think fans can expect to walk away with a body of work they can listen to to help them push through their own life changes and growth. 

What inspired you for this album, which will also mark your first album since 2017?

This album is inspired by the visceral nature of change and growth. 

This album is a continuation of a rebirth era for you. Beyond vivid sonic approach musically, it will live through performance art, gripping visuals and immersive experiences that blur the lines between reality. Why did you decide on such aproach for this album?

Something about the music and the themes in this album are demanding more of me in their presentation. Stripping everything to its core feels necessary and more honest, so I’m taking that approach with everything. 

Just recently, you presented a few singles from the upcoming album with a performance that left everyone talking. You performed while being suspended from ropes that were pierced through the skin on your back. How did you come up with this idea for the performance?  

The suspension performance was something that came up in a meditation. The performance was symbolic of the way we all deal with pain, carry pain, hide pain, somehow continue to push through and more importantly it was to question ‘why’.

Who would be an artist that you would really love to collaborate with in the future?

Glenn Kaino. 

With the release of a new album, what else is next for you?

Performance art, film and general things that I find inspiring. 

Interview: Jana Letonja @janaletonja

COAT – LUAR
FEATEHRED HOOD – LUAR
GLOVES – SPENCER BADU
RINGS – AI STUDIO

Talent: Miguel @miguel

Photographer: Jason Renaud @jasonrenaud

Stylist: Maleeka Moss @maleeka.moss

Production: CATTURA Production @CATTURAproduction

Videographer: Pablo Banuelos @pablo.banuelos

Set design: Crystal Geller @crystalgeller

Producer: Federico Morgantini @federicomorgantini

Groomer: Amber Moss @ber_amos

Styling assistant: Rachel Thorson @rachelthorson

Tailor: Gulsen Kan @gulsenkan_fashion

Production assistant: Blue Achenbach @blueacmes

Lighting tech: Dajiana Huang @dajianahuang

Photography assistant: Anya GTA @anyagta4ever

Editor: Timi Letonja @timiletonja