ELLISS PRESENTS ITS “A GLITCH IN TIME” COLLECTION

Spring/Summer 2024 dives into nostalgia and takes an almost ethereal look back in time to a holiday romance long past. Floating silhouettes, faded and muted tones, and a playful movement of textures permeate the collection with notions of femininity, elegance and maturity as ELLISS introduces new cuts, fabrics and details to its most elevated offering to date.

Designer Elliss Solomon took inspiration from a vast archive of historic beach imagery and textures from German visual artist Gerhard Richter’s paintings to create the signature collagescape prints the brand is known for. ‘A Glitch in Time’ connects us to a rose-tinted past through soft hues of sepia and sun bleached tones across the brand’s signature sheer dresses, silky skirts, dropped waists and cropped tops.

Stand-out styles include knitted contrasting ankle dresses, mini dresses, halter tops and cropped sweaters, mirroring the pulled brush strokes similar to Richter’s intricate works. Serving as an ode to classic polka dots and stripes from mid-century beach attire, the brand introduces further sheer options with recycled polyester chiffon and organic cotton voile silhouettes.

Traditional seaside prints are distorted by glitches and hazy blurs in muted tones of sepia or pale green tints echoing vintage film photography. Triangle bikini tops with contrasting straps, as well as oversized denim sphere totes with frayed edges in four distinct prints, continue the story of a nostalgic beach summer.

New design elements for the season are also found in delicate and carefully placed pleats on dropped waists. Voluminous skirt inserts and playful tie details give a fresh take on the brand’s classic silk bias-cut ankle dresses, while floaty chiffon kaftans, sheer wrap skirts and open-back tie blouses usher in new silhouettes. In addition, ELLISS also introduces mesh leggings in various matching prints as a refined layering element to the collection’s offering.

Exclusively made from sustainable and recycled materials, the collection pulls its focus back to breathable and lightweight organic cotton and, for the first time, also introduces Tencel drill – a soft-to-the-touch textured woven fabric – standing alongside the brand’s signature RPET silk, mesh, Ecovero jersey and organic cotton denim materials.

The new Spring/Summer 2024 collection encapsulates what ELLISS is all about – easy-to-wear attire, infused with poetic and romantic notions of nostalgia, that is as comfortable as it is empowering.

Designer: Elliss Solomon @ellissellisselliss
Photography: Pasquale Viglione @pasquale_viglione
Light Technician and Digital OP: Simon Paterson @simonpatersonphoto
Set Design: Camilla Byles @camilla.byles 
Assisted by: Columba Williams @columbaaa
Movement Direction: Patricia Zhou @patricia_zhou
Hair: Moe Mukai @moemukai23
Make-Up: Elaine Lynskey @elainelynskey
Nails: Jessica Thompson @jessicathompsonnails @eighteen_mgmt

Models:
Ellie @elliegrist @milkmodelmanagement
Elody @elodywilson @selectmodellondon

ELLISS Studio:
Martha Ketcher @marthaketcher
Sophie Ali @soph.textiles
Alyssa An @iamalyssakiki

Knitwear Consultation: Ilana Blumberg @ilanablumberg

Start typing and press Enter to search

Don't miss out!

Subscribe to our newsletter and stay up to date with everything Numéro!

Or subscribe to our magazine and get a physical or digital of over 400 pages twice a year!

Subscribe